Skip to main content

Copyright: Copyright

Copyright

Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States (title 17, U.S. Code) to the authors of "original works of authorship," including literary, dramatic, musical, artistic, and certain other intellectual works.  This protection is available to both published and unpublished works.

The Association of Research Libraries has an excellent collection of resources for copyright, fair use, IP, and more.

Obtaining Permission

Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) is a U.S. company that provides collective copyright licensing services for corporate and academic users of copyrighted materials. At copyright.com you can search for and obtain permission to use and share content from the world’s leading titles in science, technology, medicine, humanities, news, business, finance and more.

Books

NOTICE WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. The person using this equipment is liable for any infringement.

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpuf
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpufThe copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpufThe copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpuf
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpuf
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpuf
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. - See more at: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/academic-and-educational-permissions/library-photocopying/#sthash.iztvRgAD.dpuf

Copyright Protects...

  • Literary works
  • Musical works, including any accompanying words
  • Dramatic works, including any accompanying music
  • Pantomimes and choreographic works
  • Pictorial, graphic and sculptural works
  • Motion pictures and other audiovisual works
  • Sound recordings
  • Architectural works
  • Computer software

Search Copyright.gov

Ask a Librarian

 

To comply with social distancing guidelines, the ACOM Librarians are working remotely and may be delayed in responding to your message.  If you email us and don't get a response within a reasonable time, please send us a reminder!  Stay safe!

 

Email:  lrc.ask@acom.edu

Legal Disclaimer

The advice and information on copyrighted materials provided by the library is not intended to substitute for and is in no way legal advice.


© Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine Library ι Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine ι 445 Health Sciences Boulevard, Dothan, AL 36303 ι (334) 699-2266 ext. 4242 ι Contact Us