Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence Based Medicine: Acquire

Aquiring Evidence

Choosing the right tools for the job.

Point of Care Tools

Filtered Resources:

In filtered resources, clinical experts and subject specialists pose a question and then synthesize and appraise the “evidence” to state conclusions based on the available research.

DynaMed: Created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.

UpToDate: Is a clinical information tool with over 70,000 pages of peer-reviewed, fully-referenced, & illustrated topic reviews.  Includes related charts, x-rays, photographs, movies, & MEDLINE abstracts.

Clinical Key: Journals, Books, Practice Guidelines, Patient Education, Drugs, Multimedia, CME and more.

Epocrates Online Premium : A drug, disease, and formulary reference tool, including continually updated, integrated drug and disease information.

Research Tools

Unfiltered:

Unfiltered resources provide the most recent information, but it’s up to the clinician to evaluate each study found to determine its validity and applicability to the patient.

Unfiltered resources provide the most recent information, but it’s up to the clinician to evaluate each study found to determine its validity and applicability to the patient.

PubMed: Interface for searching MEDLINE, the online index of biomedical journal article citations from 1950 to present. Premiere database of medical literature.

AMED:Allied and Complementary Medicine Database. Includes abstracts to journal articles

Natural Medicines: Provides high quality, evidence-based information on complementary & alternative therapies.

Google Scholar: Searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar is being configured with ACOM's holdings so don't pay for an article you find there until you check with us!

EBM and Study Design by Connie Schardt Duke University


© Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine Library ι Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine ι 445 Health Sciences Boulevard, Dothan, AL 36303 ι (334) 699-2266 ext. 4242 ι Contact Us