Skip to main content

ACOM Banner

Copyright: Images

Copyright and Images

In general, images used in the classroom, for a scholarly lecture, or in unpublished papers/posters do fall under Fair Use or The TEACH Act but always check the Terms of Use and copyright statement to be sure. 

Click To Enlarge

Click the info-graphic to the right to enlarge a handy decision chart. 

Whenever possible, ACOM librarians include language in our licenses that allow lecturers and students to use graphics and images from our resources in the classroom setting. Instructions on how to export images from selected resources are below.

NOTE: Always include a citation for each image used.  

Access Medicine

Images in ACOM's Access Medicine resources can be used in the classroom. Use the handy Download Slide link to access an  explanation and a correct citation along with the image. 

Clinical Key

Images from Clinical Key resources can be used in the classroom. First, make a Clinical Key account: click on the Register link in the top right menu and fill out the short form. Then you can click on images to create presentation slides and export multiple slides from Clinical Key at one time.

R2 Digital Library

Exporting images from the R2 platform has a few steps: 

  1. Click the Save Image button.
  2. Click Save to save the image to My Images.
  3. Go to the My R2 button in the top left hand corner.
  4. The page defaults to Bookmarks so you will need to select the Images tab.
  5. You should see a list of your saved images. When you hover over them an Export button will appear. 
  6. Click Download to save the image to your computer.

Books@Ovid

To save an image from Full Text, first open its full-sized display. Then follow these steps:

  • Click the Download Tiff link located at the top of the display. The File Download dialog will open.
  • Click Save. The Save As dialog will open.
  • In the dialog, type a file name, file type, and directory location.
  • Click Save.

To export an image to PowerPoint, first open its full-sized display. Then follow these steps:

  • Click the Export to PowerPoint link located at the top of the display. The File Download dialog will open.
  • Click Save. The Save As dialog will open.
  • In the dialog, type a file name, file type, and directory location.
  • Click Save.

LWW Health Library

LWW Health Library Books provide a Slide link right under their images. 

UpToDate

ACOM's license to UpToDate allows for the use of images in classroom presentations and coursework. Note the Export to PowerPoint link is really small and all the way to the right of the web page.

Other Resources

There are also many image collection options online. Be sure to check for any restrictions on usage before copying online images. 

  • Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine Open-i is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The database includes images from articles in PubMed Central, Indiana University hospital network, USC Digital Library Orthopedic Surgical Anatomy Teaching Collection, the NLM's History of Medicine division, and MedPix. Reuse of Open-i images is determined by each image's license type. If available, a link to the applicable license type will be below the individual image on the detailed view page.
  • TinEye is a reverse lookup search engine. If you have a picture and don't know what it is or where it came from, TinEye may be of help. 
  • USA.gov This database provides an easy way to find government information and services. It includes an image search that spans a number of government sites, including the CDC.

© Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine Library ι Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine ι 445 Health Sciences Boulevard, Dothan, AL 36303 ι (334) 699-2266 ext. 4242 ι Contact Us